Candied grapefruit/ Pomelos verdes confitados

The first time I bought a bag of candied green grapefruit was in the Tostaduria Montt in Temuco. The second time was today in an Arab neighborhood in Haifa, Israel.
The first time we ate it sitting on a creek in Puerto Dominguez, Chile with Britanny and Paty when we visited one of the Mapuche community in Romopulli Huapi to learn their stories and portrait them through our art. The second time, I ate it alone in a shared van that was full of Russians, while I was on the highway from Haifa to Tel Aviv to attend the inauguration of the exhibition of the Israeli artist apprentice of who i am.
The first time I offered myself, in ignorant sacrifice, to try to understand the colors and hues of a conflict physically close to me, but that was not mine. This second time I am faced with a conflict of which I have more knowledge and a different kind of attachment, but even so, it is a curious thing to see that to assume one’s own ignorance is maintained as an important value to cultivate accurate impressions and fair opinions. It allows me to to kill and resurrect my conclusions continuously and analyze with greater clarity what remains, what is that transcends. What is true.
I am delighted to know that my sense of smell is that much superior than my other senses, that it allows these candied green grapefruit to take me the exact moment where I tasted them for the first time, and it makes it so much easier to overlay the impressions of that time in this superficially different but so deeply similar second time.

421098_109981545793719_1553896032_nLa primera vez que compre una bolsita de pomelos verdes confitados fue en la Tostaduria Montt en Temuco. La segunda vez fue hoy en un barrio árabe en Haifa, Israel.
La primera vez los comimos en el muelle de Puerto Dominguez con Britanny y Paty cuando visitamos una de las comunidad mapuches en Romopulli Huapi para conocer sus historias y retratarlas a través de nuestro arte. La segunda vez los comí sola en una van compartida que estaba llena de rusos, mientras iba en el camino de Haifa a Tel aviv a asistir a la Inauguración de la exhibición del artista israeli de quien soy aprendiz.
La primera vez me ofreci en ignorante sacrificio, para intentar comprender los colores y matices de un conflicto fisicamente cercano a mi pero que no sentia mio. Esta segunda vez me enfrento a un conflicto del cual tengo mas conocimiento y una clase distinta de apego, pero aun asi, es curioso ver como asumir la propia ignorancia se mantiene como un valor importante para cultivar impresiones certeras y juicios justos. Me permite matar y resucitar continuamente mis conclusiones y analizar con mayor claridad que es lo que permanece, que es lo que trasciende. Que es lo verdadero.
Me encanta saber que mi sentido del olfato es tan superior a mis otros sentidos, que hace que estos pomelos verdes confitados me trasladen al momento exacto donde los probé por primera vez , y hace que se me haga tanto mas fácil superponer las impresiones de esa vez en esta superficialmente diferente pero tan profundamente similar segunda vez.

Leave a Reply

