Passion, Peace & the dance in between.

(Speech done at the 2016 GCC of the Melton Foundation in Chile)

14560180_690153370910_1320630628071691110_o

I am May Garces member of the Melton Foundation since 2005 and I am here not to show a specific project, but a little reflection about the projects I’ve done with the support of the MF.
I only have 10 minutes so let’s see if I can do this.

I have been awarded more than 10 scholarships in recent years to implement ideas that align with the values of the Foundation: mutual respect, global citizenship and intellectual curiosity and their areas of focus that are sustainability, equality and diversity.
My projects and the projects that I have participated in, are mostly related to education, the arts, community development and decision making. Moreover, I have to say that these scholarships have allowed me to explore some personal hypothesis that I have about life and to channel my thoughts and feelings productively.
So I am deeply grateful
The Melton Foundation has truly been a psychedelic experience for me. By psychedelic I mean “mind revealing” (for its etymological root). I have been able to make visible the thoughts inside my head. I have turned inside out and I can understand more clearly.

From a scholarship that took me to Greece to explore History with friends from India, China and Chile; to learning different approaches to music theory and the physics of sound in India; to confronting stereotypes in Chile; to work with different communities of artists from around the world to have confidence in the power of seduction of art in us humans, I have been able to explore and live my questions.
Now how cool is that?! …
… it makes me wonder, why have I felt the need to do all this?
Well, maybe you can see that I am an intense person. I was a passionate girl and I have never wanted that to change. But this passion has not always been positive. Passion can be constructive or destructive.
And THIS is what I want to talk a little today.

The energy that drives our projects.

Is the quality of our intentions  important when making projects? Does it affect their impact? … These are interesting questions that I do not have the complete answer to yet.

I can say that not all of my projects were motivated by the joy and curiosity, but some projects did, just to save myself.

Once, I was so deeply sad that I realized that doing a project with other people was what I needed to save my year. I really really I wanted to stop living. I was not angry or upset. I just felt nothing. Just felt something pulling me down; slowing me down to a state of peace. And I longed for the peace and thought it was time to have it. I thought it was time to rest in peace. Since my childhood I have been aware of this reality: that one day we will all return to…peace. In this moment of sadness, I just longed for that peace to come faster.
See…emotions are confusing sometimes. We panic, because things do not go as expected, but sometimes we just have to wait a little longer to understand what it all means to discover wonderful things. So in the meantime, we have to lengthen the time. Stall. Make time happen faster.

In a lucid moment, I felt the need to save myself and saw that people around me were motivated to make a project and include me in it, so I grabbed this opportunity tightly and we did the project. I can now look back and say “well, at least I did something useful with my time!” “at least I will remember these projects as benchmarks of things I love and respect, instead of remembering these other things, these other problems, that do not define me. ” That I did not want to be defined by.
We can transform our negative emotions into positive actions.

The truth is that what you create, creates you back. The ideas that you practice
inform you of who you are. Of our strengths and your weaknesses.
If you want to have memorable and meaningful learnings you have to include yourself and commit your feelings into what you’re doing. And it will hurt. But as Albert Camus would say: “Life should live to the point of tears”…
Isn’t it amazing that we can do this as Melton fellows? We agree on common values and we can be intentional in making them real. And we have to make them real, because they are so difficult to live by every single day !!

Last week I was in Colombia where I learnt about the dismantling of the “hell on earth” that was “the Bronx” neighborhood in Bogota, where they used to kill people and cut them up in pieces and made  their bodies disappear by melting them in acid …. and it only makes me think that these could have been my hands. That there are some of us humans who get their pleasure from oppressing others, from the destruction of others.
Those could have been my hands, but they are not, and I’m happy for that. I am responsible for that. We are responsible for the fact that we can get pleasure from things that help others and not things that destroy others. We are now able to use our brains to decide, we are able to use this prefrontal cortex of ours that allows us to make complex decisions to design activities and people and environments that make us the person we think we are or the person we want to become.
We have this space, and these similar-minded organizations to channel our good and bad passions, and it is a privilege that we need to continue sharing.
Looking from a distance in this 25th anniversary, I see certain patterns emerging, some choreography in team dynamics, some dancing in my motivation, a fluctuating impact of the things I’ve done and their improvement has something to do with listening. With the noticing. With perception.
What’s going on? in and outside of me? … Who is moving? Who is making new choreographies? Should I copy their footsteps? Should I make my own dance?
Listen out. Notice.
With my projects I have wanted to explore the truth of my own passion and decide with which movements I want to be associated with. I have found these collaborations in the most unlikely places.
For example now I work with:
A group of physical educators working on embodied cognition and empathy.
A group of mathematicians who study the metaphors that emerge in artistic forms in the classroom,
A group of social workers who apply creative processes as a way to heal traumatic experiences
with many groups of artists who express the thoughts of their communities in powerful ways, and I have been able to contact them because of the projects I’ve done in the Melton Foundation. I have worked with them because my projects speak of my interests and relate to their problems.
I can now look back now and things make a little sense and my invitation is to use this anniversary to notice, to listen, to reflect:
Where is your curiosity leading you? Where is your passion leading you? Where is your pain leading you?…
… All these emotions are energy, motivation. We don’t need to be afraid of them, they can also take you to do good things.
And you should do good things. Because they can save you sometimes when you long for peace to come before, you will be able to find this peace in the honesty of your own story.
As leaders and communities of concerned people, we need to work intentionally with these dynamics in mind so that our efforts will result in a truly promising future.
“Those who love peace must learn to organize as effectively as those who love war ‘Martin Luther King Jr.said very wisely.
We are on this dance floor together. Let’s listen to the music, let’s understand how it is moving us, let’s communicate between us and let’s choreograph a great show.

I can’t wait.

________________

Hola soy de May Garces miembro de la Fundacion Melton desde 2005 y estoy aquí no para mostrar un proyecto en específico, sino una pequeña reflexión acerca de los proyectos que he hecho con el apoyo de la MF.
Tengo sólo 5 minutos así que vamos a ver si puedo hacer esto.
Se me ha otorgado más de 10 becas en los últimos años para poner en práctica ideas que se alinean con los valores de la Fundacion: el respeto mutuo, la ciudadanía global y la curiosidad intellectual y también con sus áreas de enfoque que son la sustentabilidad, la igualdad y la diversidad.
Mis proyectos y los proyectos que he participado, son en su mayoría vinculados a la educación, las artes, desarrollo comunitario y la toma de decisiones.
Por otra parte, tengo que decir que estas becas me han permitido explorar algunas hipótesis personales que tengo sobre la vida y para canalizar mis propios pensamientos y sentimientos de manera productiva.
Por eso estoy profundamente agradecida
La Fundación Melton ha sido verdaderamente una experiencia psicodélica para mí. Por psicodélico quiero decir revelador de mente (por su raiz etimologica). He sido capaz de hacer visibles los pensamientos dentro de mi cabeza. Los he volteado de adentro hacia afuera y he podido entenderlos con más claridad.
Desde una beca que me llevo a Grecia a explorar la historia con los amigos de la India, China y Chile; hasta el aprendizaje de nuevos enfoques de la teoría de la música y la física del sonido en la India, hasta confrontar estereotipos en Chile y trabajar con diferentes comunidades de artistas de todo el mundo para que tengan confianza en el poder de seducción del arte en los seres humanos, he podido explorar y vivir mis preguntas.
¿Cuan genial es eso?!…
… y también… por qué he sentido la necesidad de hacer todo esto?
Bueno, tal vez se puede ver que soy una persona intensa. Yo era una niña intensa y nunca he querido que eso cambie.
Pero esta pasión no siempre ha sido positiva. La pasión puede ser constructiva o destructiva.
Y esto es lo que quiero hablar un poco hoy.
La energía que impulsa nuestros proyectos. Es la calidad de nuestras intenciones importante al hacer proyectos? ¿Afecta el impacto? … Estas son preguntas interesantes que no tengo la respuesta completa aun.
Puedo decir que no todos mis proyectos fueron motivados por la alegría y la curiosidad, sino que algunos proyectos los hice sólo para salvarme a mí misma.
Una vez, estaba tan profundamente triste que me di cuenta que hacer un proyecto con otras personas era lo que necesitaba para salvar mi año. Realmente realmente quería dejar de estar. No estaba muy enojada o molesta. Simplemente sentia nada. Sólo sentia algo tirando de mí hacia abajo; desacelerandome hacia un estado de paz. Y yo anhelaba esa paz y pensé que era el momento de tenerla. Pense que era el tiempo de descansar en paz.
Desde chica he sido consciente de esta realidad,que un día todos vamos a volver a la paz.
Y en este momento de tristeza, solo quería que la paz llegara más rápido.
Ves?, las emociones a veces son confusas. Nos entra el pánico, porque las cosas no salen como esperamos, pero a veces sólo tenemos que esperar un poco más para ver qué significa todo esto, para descubrir cosas maravillosas. Así que mientras tanto tenemos que alargar el tiempo. Hacer que pase rapido.
En un momento de lucidez, sentí la necesidad de salvarme a mí misma y miré a mi alrededor y vi a esta gente que estaba motivada en hacer un proyecto y de incluirme en él, así que lo tomé, me agarré de esta oportunidad y lo realizamos. Ahora puedo mirar atrás y decir “bueno, al menos hice algo útil con mi tiempo” “por lo menos voy a recordar estos proyectos como puntos de referencia de cosas que amo y respeto, y no recordare estas otras cosas, estos otros problemas, que no me definen”. o que no quiero que me definan.
 Podemos transformar las emociones negativas en acciones positivas.
La verdad es que lo que creas te crea de vuelta. Las ideas que pones en práctica
te informan de lo que eres. De tus fortalezas y de tus debilidades.
SI quieres tener un aprendizaje memorable y significativo tienes que incluirte a ti mismo y comprometer tus sentimientos en lo que estás haciendo. Y te va a doler. Pero como diría Albert Camus: La vida se deberia vivir al borde de las lágrimas.
¿No es increíble lo que se nos permite hacer como Melton fellows? Estamos de acuerdo en los valores comunes que tenemos y podemos ser intencionales en hacerlos reales. Ydebemos hacer esto porque son tan difíciles de vivir cada día !!
La semana pasada estaba en Colombia aprendiendo acerca del desmantelamiento del infoerno en la tierra que era el barrio Bronx en Bogota, donde mataban y cortaban a la gente y hacian desaparecer sus cuerpos fundiéndolos en ácido …. y me hace pensar que esas podrían haber sido mis manos! Que hay algunos de nosotros, seres humanos, obtienen su placer de oprimir a otros, de la destrucción de otros.
Esas podrían haber sido mis manos, pero no lo son, y estoy feliz por eso. Soy responsable de eso. Somos responsables del hecho de que podemos obtener placer de cosas que ayudan a los demás y no de cosas que destruyen otros. Somos hoy capaces de usar nuestro cerebro para decidir, somos capaces de utilizar esta corteza prefrontal que nos permite tomar decisiones complejas y diseñar las actividades y las personas y ambientes que nos convierten en la persona que pensamos que somos o queremos ser.
Tenemos este espacio, y estas organizaciones afines para canalizar nuestras buenas y malas pasiones y es un privilegio que necesitamos seguir compartiendo.
Mirando desde la distancia en este 25 aniversario veo ciertos patrones emergentes, una cierta coreografía de la dinámica de equipos, un cierto baile en la motivación, un impacto fluctuante de las cosas que he hecho y su mejora tiene algo que ver con el escuchar. Con el notar.
Con la percepción.
¿Qué está pasando? dentro y fuera de mí? …considera la información para actuar con mas proposito. ¿Quién está en movimiento? Debería copiar sus pasos? ¿Debo hacer mi propia danza?
Escucha. Nota.
Con mis proyectos he querido explorar la veracidad de mi propia pasión y decidir con qué movimientos quiero estar asociada. Y los he encontrado en los lugares más inverosímiles.
Ahora trabajo con:
Un grupo de educadores físicos que trabajan en conocimiento corporal y la empatía.
Un grupo de matemáticos que investigan cómo las metaforas emergen en formas artísticas en el aula,
Un grupo de trabajadores sociales que aplican procesos creativos como una forma de curar experiencias traumáticas
Muchos grupos de artistas que expresan los pensamientos de sus comunidades y he podido contactarme con ellos a causa de los proyectos que he hecho en la Fundacion Melton
He podido trabajar con ellos porque mis proyectos hablan de mis intereses y se relacionan con sus problemas.
Ahora puedo mirar hacia atrás y las cosas se hacen un poco de sentido y mi invitación es aprovechar este aniversario, para notar, para escuchar, para reflexionar
¿Dónde te esta conduciendo tu curiosidad? ¿Dónde  te esta conduciendo tu pasión? Donde te esta conduciendo tu dolor?
… Porque todas estas emociones son energía, motivación. No tenemos que tener miedo de ellos, pueden también le llevará a hacer buenas cosas.
Y deberías hacer buenas cosas. Porque te pueden salvar a veces, cuando anheles que la paz llegue antes, tu serás capaz de encontrar esta paz en la honestidad de tu propia historia.
Como líderes y comunidades de personas interesadas, necesitamos trabajar intencionalmente con estas dinámicas en mente para que nuestros esfuerzos resulten en un futuro verdaderamente esperanzador.
 “Los que aman la paz debe aprender a organizar la misma eficacia que los que aman la guerra. ‘Martin Luther King Jr. –
Estamos en la pista de baile juntos. Escuchemos la música, comuniquémonos bien entre nosotros y coreografiemos un gran espectáculo.
Leave a Reply

